Dear Clayton,

The nights were long but the year was oh so short. You’re a whole year old now and I just can’t seem to wrap my head around that. I still remember finding out you were inside my belly and wonder how exactly my life would change. For the months of grueling pregnancy, days of labor and the last 30 minutes I didn’t think I’d make it through; I now have you, and that is the greatest gift of all.

Looking back at pictures, videos and memories, sometimes I don’t know how we made it through. The nights were so long, but the year has come and gone. You’ve cooed, you’ve smiled, you’ve laughed, you’ve crawled, you’ve walked and you’ve talked, but your heart is the most impressive thing of all. You’re the sweetest soul I’ve ever known. You’re the gentlest kind of love and the strongest kind of passion in the world. You make me a better person. You make the people around you smile and love hard. Your heart is so contagious and infectious, everyone you meet adores you.

How did we get so lucky? With how crazy and cruel this world can be, you’re the most forgiving and unconditional person in the world. Somehow, those long nights that seemed to have never ended, you managed to make us smile through the tears. The days of fevers, shots, the flu, tummy aches and teething pains may not be over; but they’ve taught us so much. Even through suffering and pain that Mama and Daddy can’t change, you manage to persevere and be the strongest (and hungriest) little boy on earth, whispering “more baba” through your tears.

The longest nights may stain our memory, but the year has been the highlight of our life. You will change the world, my son. You will continue to be the light and hope of all things pure and simple in this crazy world. You will laugh and smile your way through our toughest nights. You will cry and hurt at times, but your brave heart of a lion will always be bigger than the obstacles you face.

So, Clayton.. remember this; the nights maybe be long, but the years will short.

Love, Mama