It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted, but like many of you I have been extra busy over the Holiday break. First of all, I wish everyone a belated Happy Thanksgiving and hope you had time to make memories and share love with the people who matter the most. In this post I plan to reflect on the past week and I hope I can make it through without getting too emotional or overwhelmed, but I’m not making any promises.

If you were unaware, my Mother-In-Law, Sandy, is fighting like hell against the cancer she’s had for 4 years now. In the last 2 months things have become pretty dire and Sandy has been miraculously turning days into weeks and weeks into months. Chris’ parents live in Shaver Lake, CA, which is about five and half hours from us. This has made it really difficult for us to find time to visit Sandy and the Peterson Clan. Chris has found 24 hours here, 48 hours there, and other ways to piece small trips together, but I have not been able to join him due to the need to save my sick days for maternity leave. So with the long Thanksgiving Break Chris and I headed up the mountain to spend 5 days with the family. Our plans included a huge Thanksgiving meal with Chris’ cousins from Texas and a “Mini Baby Shower” for all of the mountain friends and family to attend. Once we arrived in Shaver our time was spent mostly with Sandy, talking about the baby nursery, the pregnancy and other fun topics. Our main focus on the trip was to enjoy any time with Sandy that we could.

Thanksgiving Day was a whirlwind of a day that I honestly can’t remember much of. Maybe it’s the pregnancy brain, maybe its because there were 19 adults and 9 children at the event. Who knows ;). Chris’ cousins who were in town visiting might be the coolest people I’ve ever met, not to mention they’re married to country ROCK STARS and are from Texas. Cody Canada, of Cody Canada and the Departed, along with Wade Bowen are two of Chris’ cousins’ husbands (following?) and are the rock stars I’m speaking of. These guys are seriously talented musicians with many popular albums on iTunes and huge fan followings in Texas and the south. They’re so popular that Wade Bowen actually was only in attendance on Thanksgiving Day because he was in between shows on his cross-continental tour (I told you these people were cool).

Just like any other family, we did the usual, “Tell us what you’re thankful for” routine. This is where the emotions really started flowing. The kids cited being thankful for everything from their big family, being adopted by the Peterson’s, their Grandma and Aunt Sandy and to have rock star Dads. The adults were more sentimental in being thankful for everything Sandy has taught them in her life and that we all could share such a special moment together. Upon my turn, I couldn’t hold back my tears as I explained being thankful for Mike and Sandy’s constant love and support, thier positive example of marriage and parenting, and their son who I’m lucky to call my man. Sandy went last on what she was thankful for, but I’ll get to that later.

At the end of the Thanksgiving meal, Sandy requested that Cody and Wade sing and play the guitar for everyone. This was probably the most emotional and special moment of the trip for everyone. The guys took turns playing different gospel songs, songs from their albums and classics. There wasn’t a dry eye in the house, including the children. I think it was at this moment that everyone started to feel the gravity that this would be the last time we’d spend with Sandy like that. It was an extremely special moment that I will cherish and remember for the rest of my life.

Sandy and Mike have dedicated their lives to helping others and the community around them. Mike is a retired Under Sheriff of Alameda County and Sandy spend most of her last 25 years fostering and adopting children. The two of them fostered around 43 kids over the years and ended up adopting 4 who I proudly call my brothers and sisters. Talk about generosity and pure love! Sandy made a point to remind everyone that although her life is ending, there’s a new life beginning when our baby arrives, and “..that’s just how this thing called life works”. Cue all the feels and tears on that comment.

The week went on to include quality family time, laughs, tears and story telling. On Saturday night we had a small baby shower with Sandy’s friends and family. Although the baby shower was for our boy, it was also more time for people to spend with Sandy and that was a beautiful thing. Chris and I are extremely thankful to everyone who has already provided love and support to our baby boy. Needless to say the week was emotionally, mentally and physically draining but extremely fulfilling.

To end this post I’ll quote one of the great lyrics I heard from the Texas rock stars this week..

“If we ever make it home
They’ll be peace like we’ve never known
Nobody’s gonna walk alone
We’ll be leaning on each other

Every wall that we’ve built up high
Is gonna fall right before our eyes
Love will surely conquer hate
If we ever make it home”

-Wade Bowen, If We Ever Make It Home

Thanks for reading along! -RTTP